The Veal Pen

*Edging Borrowed Nostalgia Since September 2010*

COMP PREVIEW: Perc Trax - Slowly Exploding


Started in ‘04 as a channel for Ali Wells to release his early twelves, Perc Trax has grown to become one of the most respected British techno institutions. In order to celebrate a decade in operation, comes a double-CD compilation. Disc 1 is formed from unreleased material from producers synonymous with the label (Truss, Sawf and Forward Strategy Group), and a cast of new roster recruits including Clouds, Happa and Kareem. Meanwhile, Disc 2 is a 23-track catalogue showcase spin by Wells, with remixes from Lucy, Factory Floor and Ancient Methods along the way.

NB: Read my review in the November issue of MIXMAG.

Label: Perc Trax

Genre: Techno

You’ll like this, if you like: Drumcode ‘15 Years Of Drumcode’ [Drumcode]

Release date: 10th November 

CD1 – New Tracks 
1. Drvg Cvltvre -­ (I Don’t Want To Die In) James Franco’s House 
2. Happa ­- To Die Hating Them 
3. Truss – Brockweir 
4. Sawf - Groves 
5. Perc – Hyperlink 
6. Martyn Hare -­ The New Normal 
7. Forward Strategy Group -­ Dragon’s Tooth 
8. Clouds -­ Dread Networks (Perc Remix) 
9. Mick Finesse & Pinnion -­ Dead Boyfriend Alley 
10. Perc – Volley 
11. Kareem -­ Just When You Thought It Was Over 

CD2 – Mixed by Perc 
1. Perc – Pre­Steel 
2. Sawf -­ Outhro 
3. Go Hiyama – Postmodern (Lucy Remix) 
4. Sawf ­- Sfika 
5. Mick Finesse & Pinion -­ Dead Boyfriend Alley 
6. Perc – My Head Is Slowly Exploding (Ancient Methods Remix) 
7. Forward Strategy Group – Nihil Novi (Factory Floor FFGG remix) 
8. Sawf ­ Goves 
9. Perc -­ Hyperlink 
10. Forward Strategy Group – Elegant Mistakes 
11. Truss ­ Brockweir 
12. Yuji Kondo – Lose The Ability To Understand 
13. Truss – Ganymede (Perc Remix) 
14. Truss -­ Hackney 
15. Sawf – Vavasofa (Perc Remix) 
16. Dead Sound & Videohead ­- Trapped 
17. Clouds – Dread Networks (Perc Remix) 
18. Perc – Take Your Body Off 
19. Martyn Hare – The New Normal 
20. Justin Berkovi – Backshredding (Forward Strategy Group Remix) 
21. Perc & Truss – Van Der Valk 
22. Drax – Phosphene (The Exaltics Remix) 
23. Perc – Before I Go


RELATED POSTS: Dissolve present Traversable Wormhole *** Pangaea ‘Fabric 73’ [Fabric]

ALBUM REVIEW: Call Super - Suzi Ecto


Joe Seaton’s last release for Houndstooth consisted of two tanking slabs of deep techno. For his debut album, the Berlin-based Brit eases off the gas, with eleven productions that closer resemble his experimental output as Ondo Fudd for The Trilogy Tapes. At its best (‘Dovetails’ and ‘Hoax Eye’), ‘Suzi Ecto’ is comparable to the textural electro that crowned Warp’s postmillennial output, but much like the Sheffield label’s following two years, the impetus is gradually lost to mires of obfuscating minimalism. Arguably, Seaton’s last release marked the high point of a consistent catalogue, and in comparison, it’s hard to feel this introspective opus fully lives up to its prospect. However, judged on its own merits, Suzi Ecto makes for a noteworthy enough foray into the long-player format. 

Label: Houndstooth

Genre: Electronica 

Rating: 7.5/10

Download ‘Dovetails’, ‘Hoax Eye’

You like this, if you like: Two Lone Swordsmen ‘Tiny Reminders’ [Warp]

Release date: 15th September

1. Snipe 
2. Dovetail 
3. Sulu Sekou 
4. Hoax Eye 
5. Raindance 
6. Fold Again At Last 
7. SE 
8. Rosso Dew 
9. Coney Storm Drain 
10. Okko Ink 
11. Acephale I


RELATED POSTS: Call Super ‘Decipitca’ [Houndstooth] ***  Ondo Fudd ‘Coup D’Etat’ [The Trilogy Tapes]

DOWNLOAD: Bonobo - Thump Mix


Travelling 180,000 miles, Simon Green has played 175 shows over the past 18 months – even making time for a decent addition to the Late Night Tales series. To promote the final leg of his tour, Green has stepped up to curate the latest mix selection for Vice's ever-growing THUMP magazine.

Just ahead of the tour’s final date at Alexandra Palace in North London on November the 28th, Ninja Tune will release a commemorative album entitled, ‘The North Border Tour - Live’. The 15-track CD will be presented alongside a photography book and DVD. Pre-order available below.

Genre: Electronica / Beats 


RELATED POSTS: Synkro - Thump Mix *** Pen Recommends: The 5 Ninja Tune Albums

ALBUM PREVIEW: Sebastian Mullaert & Eitan Reiter


October will see the release of a stunning collaborative album by Sebastian Mullaert (of Minilogue fame) and sound-sculptor, Eitan Reiter.  Arriving via Tokyo’s underrated Mule Musiq, this Swedish/Israeli meeting of pioneering musical minds manifests in nine lengthy compositions that should amply appeal to fans of a sparser analogue sound. Clips of the album are currently locked down pretty hard, but the second track can be streamed in full below. 

NB: Read my review in the November issue of MIXMAG.

Label: Mule Musiq

Genre: Minimal / Electronica / Techno

You’ll like this, if you like: TM404 ‘TM404’ [Kontra-Musik]

Release date: 17th October

1. Enter The Spiral
2. Dissolve
3. Water Burns Air
4. Dance of Roots
5. Ash Layla
6. No Escape
7. You Are The Proof of Heaven
8. Falling Apart Into One
9. Faith


RELATED POSTS: Yosa ‘Mars Volta’ [Apt.International] *** Marco Resmann ‘Watergate 10’ [Watergate]

12-Inch Preview: Recondite - Caldera


For The Pen’s 2013 albums of the year, I had Recondite's eerily serene 'Hinterland' in at number 5. Looking at the list seven/eight months on, I'd probably have it in the top 3 now. Anyway, the good news is that Lorenz Brunner will return in early-September via the follow up to 2012’s ‘DRGN’. Switching back to Hotflush from Ghostly, it’s in much of a similar vein to its predecessor, and you can check two minute clips of both tracks below. 

Label: Hotflush 

Genre: Techno

Release date: 1st September 


RELATED POSTS: Recondite ‘Hinterland’ [Ghostly International] *** The Albums of 2013