The Veal Pen

*Edging Borrowed Nostalgia Since September 2010*


Recruited by Gilles Peterson as part of his tireless promotion of Cuban music, Digital Mystikz’s Mala travelled to Havana in May 2011 with the intension of working alongside local musicians and vocalists. Contrasting the sensibilities of Jamaican sound system culture against a breadth of latin instrumentation, the result is 14 beautifully mastered compositions. The menacing ‘Changuito’ and quaking swagger of ‘The Tunnel’ mark exhilarating moments of low-end menace, but for the most part, this is an understated and refined affair. Among the jazzier cuts, the preceding single ‘Cuba Electronic’ and the key-heavy ‘Tribal’ stand out, while ‘Change’, ‘Curfew’ and ‘Como Como’ evoke comparison to Massive Attack’s stoner interludes. Daisy Willows

Label: Brownswood

Genre: Dubstep/Latin

Rating: 8/10

Standout tracks: Changuito’, ‘The Tunnel’, ‘Change’

Further listening: Deadbeat ‘Eight’ (BLKRTZ)

Release date: 10th September

01. Introduction 
02. Mulata 
03. Tribal 
04. Changuito 
05. Revolution 
06. Como Como feat. Dreiser & Sexto Sentido 
07. Cuba Electronic 
08. The Tunnel 
09. Ghost 
10. Curfew 
11. The Tourist 
12. Change 
13. Calle F 
14. Noches Sueños feat. Danay Suarez


RELATED POSTS: Video: Mala In Cuba *** Album Review: Deadbeat ‘Drawn & Quartered’